If you are in the unfortunate situation of thinking you may need the help of a DUI lawyer Virginia residents can rely on, contact Cohen & Cohen, P.C. Someone is available to take your call any time of the day or night, 365 days a year. We will discuss your situation at no cost to you and provide you with a free case evaluation. In the event we do not have a lawyer who is well-suited to your particular case, we would like the opportunity to help you find one who is. We have worked with many clients who have been in situations similar to yours and we know how stressful and taxing a DUI charge can be. Do not feel like you have to face this alone, call us today.
The term DUI generally refers to driving under the influence and the term DWI generally refers to driving while intoxicated but in Virginia there is really no distinction between the two. Some states differentiate these terms, where one is a less serious offense than the other. In Virginia, both terms can be used interchangeably when referring to someone driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other substances that might impair their abilities.
Someone who is accused of driving drunk has rights as does someone who is convicted of this. To help protect your rights after being pulled over for driving while under the influence, contact an experienced DUI lawyer Virginia is fortunate to have in its midst.
DUI/DWI laws in Virginia prohibit driving with a blood alcohol content of:
- 0.08% or 0.08 grams of alcohol per 100 mL of blood
- 0.02% or 0.02 grams of alcohol per 100 mL of blood if you are under 21 years old
DUI/DWI laws in Virginia prohibit driving with the following amounts of the following drugs in your body:
- 0.02 milligrams of cocaine per liter of blood
- 0.10 milligrams of methamphetamine per liter of blood
- 0.01 milligrams of phencyclidine per liter of blood
- 0.10 milligrams of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine per liter of blood
Even though the above guidelines are standard, a person can still be arrested for a DUI when they blow less than a 0.08 on a preliminary breath test. If an officer thinks that there was enough other evidence to suggest that you are impaired by alcohol and/or drugs, they are allowed to arrest you regardless of a preliminary breath test. As well, an officer may claim that a field sobriety test is evidence of an accused person’s intoxication when in fact, this is the officer’s subjective opinion.
Even if your breath or blood level test results indicate that the alcohol level in your blood was above 0.08, a lawyer who understands science, and the testing methods and devices used to determine whether someone is driving while under the influence, can use this information to discredit inaccurate test results and assumptions.
To help you to fight for your rights, contact Cohen & Cohen, P.C. to talk to a reputable DUI lawyer Virginia friends and families have relied on in the past.