2nd Degree Assault Lawyer Maryland
Crimes of violence are taken very seriously by the state of Maryland’s judicial system and if you are facing charges, you may be in need of a 2nd degree assault lawyer Maryland residents are fortunate to have in their midst. Regardless of whether or not you are being charged with 1st or 2nd degree assault, your name will be recorded as an alleged offender.
An assault is a physical attack on a person with the intention of causing harm and injury to them. Maryland categorizes assaults as either misdemeanors or felonies. Both of these are serious, criminal charges but oftentimes, the difference between them is based on the abuser’s intentions, whether they used a weapon and the kind they used, and the level of harm sustained by the victim (albeit this is an oversimplification of the actual laws). A person can be assaulted by a stranger or by someone they know. Domestic violence is an unfortunately common reason that people are charged with assault that many people find themselves in need of a good 2nd degree assault lawyer that is licensed to defend people in the state of Maryland.
A misdemeanor is a lesser charge than a felony but it is still a crime that becomes a part of the perpetrator’s permanent record. Misdemeanor convictions often include jail time and heavy fines. as well as people accused of them face the social stigma of having a violent crime on their record. Having a criminal record can disqualify a person for many jobs, it can take away security clearances already in place and prevent the accused from gaining future ones. As well, it may negatively impact a person’s ability to do things such as qualify for loans or gain entry to university. If you’ve been charged with 2nd degree assault, you may be in need of a good Maryland lawyer.
Second Degree Assault in Maryland
Second-degree assault is charged as a misdemeanor and does not carry as heavy punishment as a first-degree assault. In Maryland, a person convicted of a second-degree assault can be punished with up to 10 years in prison and a fine that is not supposed to exceed $2,500. As well, it will become a part of your permanent, criminal record.
There are some situations where a 2nd degree assault may be considered a felony for example, the assault victim is a civil servant or a law enforcement officer.
If you have been charged with 2nd degree assault, the sooner you can discuss your situation with a good lawyer in Maryland, the sooner they may be able to start protecting your rights and building a strong case in your defense.
Do not despair, there may be hope.
For a highly rated 2nd degree assault lawyer Maryland is proud to have in its midst, contact Cohen & Cohen, P.C. for a free case consultation any time of the day or night, any day of the year.